Phil Drips Day Regatta Perpetual Trophy
In 2005 Commodore Todd Wyrick and R/C Sail Michael Roth started the Phil Drips Regatta. The first regatta had three races with the last finishing off E dock where Phil sounded the finish horn from his wheelchair. All entry funds went to pay Phil’s bill at the Club. 
The trophy was originally presented to Phil Drips for excellence in race management. Rear Commodore for Sail Richard Lewis, Regatta Chair Ted Miller and race committee member Jack Peters rededicated the trophy in December 2009 to be the Phil Drips Regatta Perpetual Trophy.
For nearly three decades, being an involved member of the Waikiki Yacht Club --or any part of Hawaii's yachting community for that matter --and knowing Phil Drips went hand in hand. There was no way one could be done without the other. He was an institution, and as much a part of the WYC clubhouse as the furniture where he would often seek comfort and rejuvenation.

After his discharge from the Navy, and while still in Japan, Phil became involved with the Power Squadron there and became an instructor and eventually its commodore. He was known as "Papa Laser" after the class boats he raced there.  From Japan, Phil moved to the island of Guam where he won a gold medal in sailing at the 1975 South Pacific Games in men’s lasers, visited Hawaii twice to compete in the Hobie 14 and 16 World Championships, and flew to Bermuda to take part in the Laser Worlds.

Phil became a resident of Hawaii in 1976 and his life continued to revolve around boating. He established Kilgo Hardware's first marine department and then went into boat sales for Yacht Sales Hawaii, before creating his own company, Harbor Yacht Sales. At the same time he continued to maintain his involvement with the Power Squadron, again as an instructor and its commodore. At the 2005 WYC awards banquet Phil was named "Principal Race Officer Emeritus" for his contribution to yacht racing in Hawaii.  The Hawaii Yacht Racing Association honored Phil in 2003 by naming him Yachtsman of the Year for his unflagging involvement in race management that spanned 25 years, and involved regattas ranging from the Pan Am Clipper Cup and Kenwood Cup Series of the 1980s and 1990’s to uncounted state sailing championships and interclub regattas.  Phil also was presented an award from the Coast Guard Auxiliary for rescuing swimmers from the Hawaii Rough Water Swim held on September 2nd, 2004.
2012                The Shark                                           Dan Weyant
2011                Ikaika                                                 Tony Miller
2010                             No Race
2009                Honolulu                    Etchells           Michael Roth
2008                Asylum                       Melges 24       Michael Rothwell
2007                3 Guys on the Edge    1D 35              Dan Doyle
2006                Asylum                       Melges 24       Michael Rothwell      
2005                Asylum                       Melges 24       Michael Rothwell
Waikiki Yacht Club   •   1599 Ala Moana Blvd   •   Honolulu, HI 96814