Dave McFaull Memorial Regatta Trophy
The glass sailboat on the marble base in our trophy case is the McFaull Memorial Trophy. Then R/C Sail Jon Stanley coordinated the donation of the trophy to honor and remember David Mcfaull after his death in 1997. David with crew Mike Rothwell became Hawaii’s first Olympic sailing medalists when they won silver medals at the 1976 MontrĂ©al Olympic Games. They sailed McFaull’s boat Zomby Woof in the Tornado Class and raced seven times in nine days, with one 22-mile race daily. The medals culminated years of strenuous training for both men. McFaull, a Punahou graduate, learned to sail at the Waikiki Yacht Club. He gained intercollegiate sailing experience at Cornell, then returned home and worked as a disc jockey at KUMU Radio while training for the Olympics. Great Britain won the gold and West Germany won the Bronze. The two Silver Olympic medals are also on display in our trophy cases. The Cal 20 Class Boat Regatta was renamed the McFaull Memorial Regatta in 1998.
David was also a US Sailing certified Judge. It is raced for each year as part of the Waikiki Yacht Club Beach Fleet and Class Boat regatta.
2012 Sonoma 30    The Shark              Dan Weyant
2011 M24               Taboo                    Art Musso
2010 M24               Maka Ala               Isaac Gillette
2009 M24               Taboo                    Art Musso
2008 M24              Asylum                 Mike Rothwell  
2007 Sydney 41     Boomerang           John Spadaro
2006 M24              Asylum                 Michael Rothwell
2005 M24              Asylum                 Michael Rothwell
2004 M24              Asylum                 Michael Rothwell
2003 M24              Asylum                 Michael Rothwell
2002 J24                Cash Flow            Bob Ale
2002 M24              Usual Suspects      Art Musso
2001 M24              No Name              Jesse Andrews
2001 J24               Actuation               Dan Doyle 
2000                                No Record           
1999                      Race Abandoned  Gale Force Winds
1998 J24                Cash Flow            Bob Ale
1998 Sol                Valkyrie                Stanley/Thomas
1998 R19               Wet hens              Verna Morgan
1997 J24                Spine Care            Ken Kaan
1997 Soling           Eleluwaapalani      Phil Roach
1997 C20               Hot Flash              Susan Jacqulin     
If you have any information on the earlier winner of the Cal 20 regatta please contact me at rothcomm@lava.net     S/C Michael Roth 
Waikiki Yacht Club   •   1599 Ala Moana Blvd   •   Honolulu, HI 96814