Hawaii Yacht Racing Association
Emily Budar
All Islands Series Trophy
To be awarded at the HYRA annual banquet to the boat that has the best score in at least 4 of the following races:
Spring Ko’Olina – DJJ 3-Day Around Oahu - Kalakaua Cup - Kauai Channel Race - Lahaina Lights - Lahaina Return Race - Holoholo Non-Stop Around Oahu - Fall Ko’Olina
This trophy is dedicated in the memory of Emily K. Budar. Emily became a Waikiki Yacht Club regular spouse member on June 6, 1959 when she married member Gilman P. Budar. She spent the summer of 1959 crewing on their race committee boat the Wikiwiki, a 42-foot sports fisherman. Emily had many a fond memory of living aboar Wikiwiki at the Waikiki Yacht Club when they served as one of the committee boat for the 1959 Transpacific Yacht Race. That summer she fell in love with yachting, the Waikiki Yacht Club and Hawaii. She was an active member until her passing in March of 2001. 
In 1983 she took over the money losing Boatique. Under her direction it turned a net profit which topped even the bar net income. During the 70’s she raced their 43 ft. sloop “Encore” in all of the wahine races. Emily would be honored to be part of the All Islands Series Trophy. This trophy was created and presented to HYRA by Gilman Budar in 2007. Past winners are:
2008                Boomerang                  John Spadaro
2009                Heartbeat                    James McDowell
2010                Heartbeat                    James McDowell
2011                Heartbeat                    James McDowell
Waikiki Yacht Club   •   1599 Ala Moana Blvd   •   Honolulu, HI 96814