The Waikiki Yacht Club King Kamehameha Perpetual Trophy was created in June 2005
to promote the Waikiki Offshore Series. This regatta is the successor to the Pam Am Clipper Cup - Kenwood Cup Regattas that ran in even years in Hawaii from 1978 to 2000.
The Trophy is an incredible hand carved koa wood replica of the Hawaii Sailing Canoe Hokule’a. It was commissioned by member Philippe Kahn to entice out of town and local boats to compete in the regatta.
The deed of gift awards this trophy to the overall winner of the Waikiki Offshore Series that includes the inshore and offshore components. It is to be housed at the Waikiki Yacht Club at all times.
Hand carved by the highly talented artist Kylie Chun at an expense of $10,000 this exact replica sits in the Waikiki Yacht Clubs entry trophy case alongside her sister trophy that is dedicated to the winning Transpac boat in the 50 to 60 foot range.
In 2009 the FujiSankei Business i company became the name sponsor of the event and added their logo to the trophy. 
Past winners are:    

2004 John Siegel           Scorpio        

2005  Philippe Kahn       Pegasus      

2006  Doug Taylor         Zamboni 

2007  John Kilroy           Samba Pa Ti

2008  John Spadaro        Boomerang

2009  John Spadaro        Boomerang

2010   Inshore only sailed - Not awarded

2011   Inshore only sailed - Not awarded


Waikiki Yacht Club   •   1599 Ala Moana Blvd   •   Honolulu, HI 96814