The Chako Cup
Perpetuating the sailing spirit of Hisako “Chako” Saitoh
Dedicated to the encouragement of youth in ocean racing
The Chako Cup was established in 1990, in memory of Hisako "Chako" Saitoh.
Hisako Saitoh was a crew of the yacht ANN in the 1990 Kenwood Cup. She died when her boat hit a rock and sank at night off Molokai during the middle distance race. 
Deed of Gift: The “Chako Cup: will go to a young man or woman crew member from the Pacific Rim who, as nominated by his or her fellow crew members, yacht club and / or international yachting federation, most exemplifies the energy, skill, enthusiasm and cheerfulness that so personified “Chako”.
The nominees will be selected for their conduct during an ocean racing event, or series of events, held in the prior 24 months.
The awardees will be selected by the “Chako Cup” selection committee, which will consist of:
Jackie Black                         Kaneohe Yacht Club
David Kellert                     GM Spirit of Australia Challenge
Suzie Madrigalli                 San Francisco Yacht Club
Bobbie Slater                     Waikiki Yacht Club
Hal Wagstaff                      Commodore New Zealand yachting Federation
Awarded to:
1998                Leah Burnett
1996                Tomeko Terakawa, Sumiyo Kaneko, Eiko Wakana
1994                Leilani Tomaszewski
1992                Kyoko Imakiire        
Waikiki Yacht Club   •   1599 Ala Moana Blvd   •   Honolulu, HI 96814