Race Committee

WYC's races are run by our all-volunteer Race Committee. They're the folks who you see on the little bobbing boat anchored at the right end of the start line, valiantly keeping time with the official sandglass, raising signal flags in the correct sequence and sounding the horn to alert sailors to the countdown time, all while holding on with two hands. After the races, they may be found huddled over laptop computers, entering finishing times in to the algorithm that determines the day's winner and who's buying drinks all around.

Regatta Chairman: Hideki Hayashi
Committee Boat Skipper: Jeff Hossellman
Principal Race Officer: Hideki Hayashi
Photographer: Phil Sammer

Aaron Woodley
Bob Stamps
Branden Frederick
Buzzy Heinrich
Cliff Montgomery
Gary Piro
Gerry Murphy
Gil Budar
Hideki Hayashi
Jack Peters
James McDowell
Janet Crawford
Jeff Hossellman
Jim Ewing
Josh Teresco
Karen Kendall
Kevin Schaefer
Lance Miller
Larry Marvel
Masakazu Yoshida
Michael Roth
Mike Rothwell
Pamela MacChlerie
Patrick Kudlick
Patrick Parsons
Peter Birschbach
Rick & PJ Value
Scott Bradley
Susan Kim
Yang Suh

Be sure to say mahalo to them when you see them around our club. They are the ones who set the course, the start and finish lines, and who keep the time to deliver great racing.

Remember, for the whole duration of the race, they're also on the ‘Ilima (which translates either to the official flower of Oahu, or "little yellow boat, rolling in the waves") the club's former Pilot Boat, which now serves as Race Committee boat.


Waikiki Yacht Club   •   1599 Ala Moana Blvd   •   Honolulu, HI 96814