WYC honors the long-standing tradition of installing its officers and directors at an annual Change of Watch ceremony. Yacht clubs are organized like any other club or organization with officers and directors comprising a Board of Directors, and with committees and chairpersons. Due to the connection with the sea, and hence the Navy, some posts use naval terminology. For example, the chairman/CEO is the Commodore.

The WYC Bylaws provide that four officers are flag officers, the Commodore, Vice Commodore and two Rear Commodores – one for sail and one for power. Each has his or her own flag which represents the officer’s rank. Out of respect, Past Commodores also have a flag, but are not flag officers. These flags, which are generally recognized in yacht clubs around the country, are passed from the retiring officer to the incoming officer of each rank at the Change of Watch. Again, following naval tradition.

S/C Stan Thornton

Board of Directors

Top Row: Perry Confalone, Kim Blake, Cindy Ordonez, Stan Thornton
Bottom Row: Hideki Hayashi, Todd Rasmussen, Lyle Holden, Mike Semien, Doug Taylor

2017 WYC Board of Directors

Commodore • Lyle Holden
Vice Commodore • Todd Rasmussen
RC Sail • Hideki Hayashi
RC Power • Mike Semien
Treasurer • Kim Blake
Secretary • Cindy Ordonez
Director • Perry Confalone
Director • Steve Porretta
Director • Stan Thornton

Immediate Past Commodore • Doug Taylor

2016 WYC Board of Directors

2015 WYC Board of Directors

2014 WYC Board of Directors

2013 WYC Board of Directors
Waikiki Yacht Club   •   1599 Ala Moana Blvd   •   Honolulu, HI 96814